RefleXion Forms Scientific Advisory Board

By News Release


RefleXion Medical has formed a 10-member Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) that combines expertise in radiation oncology, medical oncology and nuclear medicine to expand patient treatment options. The new board will help guide unique treatment approaches for patients with all stages of cancer with the RefleXion X1, a platform designed with multidisciplinary cancer care in mind.

“The composition of our new SAB mirrors the clinical versatility of our system and reflects the multidisciplinary teamwork that characterizes modern cancer treatment,” said Sean Shirvani, MD, MPH, chief medical officer at RefleXion. “The board members will encourage rigorous thinking about the biology and treatment of advanced cancer with a breadth of clinical and technical knowledge that cuts across specialty boundaries and disease categories. These distinguished thought leaders bring impeccable research and clinical credentials to RefleXion’s overarching goal of improving the path forward for patients diagnosed with metastatic cancer.”

The founding members of the RefleXion Scientific Advisory Board are:


Radiation Oncology

  • Dwight E. Heron, MD, MBA, combines expertise from academia with managing large integrated oncology programs as system medical director for Oncology Services for Bon Secours Mercy Health System, and director of the Radiosurgery Institute at Mercy St. Elizabeth-Youngstown. He is president-elect of the American College of Radiation Oncology.
  • Kristin Higgins, MD, is an associate professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University, where she specializes in the treatment of thoracic malignancies.
  • Robert D. Timmerman, MD, is professor of Radiation Oncology and Neurosurgery, interim chair of Radiation Oncology and Effie Marie Cain Distinguished Chair in Cancer Therapy Research at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.
  • Phuoc T. Tran, MD, PhD, is a professor of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences at Johns Hopkins University.
  • James Welsh, MD, is a tenured professor and physician scientist at MD Anderson Cancer Center and is the director of the Immune Radiation program.

Medical Oncology

  • John Heymach, MD, PhD, is department chair of Thoracic/Head and Neck Medical Oncology at MD Anderson Cancer Center.
  • Jason Luke, MD, is the director of the Cancer Immunotherapeutics Center at University of Pittsburgh Hillman Cancer Center and associate professor of Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Melinda Telli, MD, is an associate professor of Medicine in the Division of Medical Oncology at Stanford University School of Medicine and director of the Breast Cancer Program at the Stanford Cancer Institute.

Nuclear Medicine

  • Chaitanya Divgi, MD, is a nuclear oncologist with over 30 years of academic experience including tenures at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, the University of Pennsylvania and Columbia University.
  • Martin Pomper, MD, PhD, is the Henry N. Wagner, Jr. MD professor, director of the Division of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging and associate dean for Entrepreneurship and Technology Development at Johns Hopkins Medical School.